MEFedMVVM: Testability

>> If you are new to MEFedMVVM, I suggest you first read this article to get started: https://marlongrech.wordpress.com/2010/05/23/mefedmvvm-v1-0-explained/

Having solid unit tests is key to have successful projects. When these projects get really large and especially if there are several developers on the project. Once you get used to unit testing you feel un-complete if you do not unit test your code. One of the virtues of the Art of Unit testing is Mocking. Mocking is really important while you are unit testing so you remove all the dependencies of the code you are testing and you just test what you really want to test.

“Testability” is something that I take very seriously and in MEFedMVVM it was no exception.

Unit testing best friend is Dependency Injection(since with this you can mock all the dependencies); MEFedMVVM leverages MEF thus this comes for free. Having said that what is also really cool with MEFedMVVM is that all services exposed can be mocked. By services I do not just mean backend services (example a service that connects to a DB to load data) but also UI services (or as I usually refer to them MEFedMVVM IContextAware services).

Here is a sample unit test (you can see this in the source code of MEFedMVVM) Please note I am using Rhino Mocks as my mocking framework for this sample.

 

image

As you can see in this test I am testing that when I set the SelectedUser property on the ViewModel (which would be updated by binding at runtime) I send a mediator message. I can do this because the Mediator that comes out of the box with MEFedMVVM is exposed as an IMediator thus I can easily mock it and test that I am doing the right calls to the Mediator.

What is really cool is that I can even mock behaviours like ViewModel setting a Visual State or even testing that on Loaded event of the View the ViewModel does something (in my case it will load some data from a service)

image

As you can see in the above code, I am testing that when the ContainerLoaded event (which is an event in the MEFedMVVM IContainerStatus an IContextAware service that abstracts the Loaded and unloaded event of the View) of the IContainerStatus is raised, I am setting the “Welcome” state via the IVisualStateManager ( which is another MEFedMVVM IContextAware service that lets you set a specific VisualState on the View).

I am also testing that the first user is selected by default and that my data is loaded.

Conclusion

I think the fact that I can mock any dependency that my ViewModel has (even if it is a “UI” thing) is a really powerful thing! Currently MEFedMVVM is helping me and my team a lot and we are finding that Unit Testing with MEFedMVVM is really awesome. Having said that if you have any comments/suggestion on how to make testing easier with this library, Please do let me know.

Thanks

Download MEFedMVVM

http://mefedmvvm.codeplex.com/

5 thoughts on “MEFedMVVM: Testability

  1. I am doing a similar thing, except that I use test doubles instead of mocks, but I too had to create something similar to your EventCaller.

    Moq does this for free I think.

  2. Pingback: Dew Drop – May 27, 2010 | Alvin Ashcraft's Morning Dew

Leave a Reply

