How can I get the DataGrid control for Silverlight 2 Beta 1 to show up in Blend?

So, let me start by saying this, I am not a blend guru. I never use blend, I prefer Visual Studio. I was showing off Blend 2.5 March 2008 Preview to the designers at work and I noticed that the Silverlight DataGrid was not showing up in the list of controls in blend. Then I remembered that the Datagrid control for Silverlight 2 Beta 1 is in the System.Windows.Controls.Data dll which is not added as a reference by default in Silverlight projects.

So how can one make the Datagrid control show up in blend for a Silverlight project?

The answer is very easy. You have to add a reference to the System.Windows.Controls.Data dll. To do this right click on the References folder in blend and select Add Reference (as shown in the image below)

An open file dialog should pop up. The System.Windows.Controls.Data dll is located in the folder C:\Program Files\Microsoft SDKs\Silverlight\v2.0\Libraries\Client\. Enter that path in the address bar and a list of Dll should popup. Select the System.Windows.Controls.Data dll and you’re done🙂

Now that you added the reference to the System.Windows.Controls.Data dll, the Datagrid control should appear in blend.

If you are going to use the DataGrid control for Silverlight I would suggest that you read this very useful blog post

Have loads of fun with Silverlight…

2 thoughts on “How can I get the DataGrid control for Silverlight 2 Beta 1 to show up in Blend?

  1. Pingback: Silverlight Cream for March 23, 2008 -- #232

  2. May whatever higher powers you believe in bless you to no end, my friend. This issue has irritated, aggravated, and generally plagued me to no end. Thank you very, very much!

Leave a Reply

