MEF DeploymentCatalog and Reference assemblies

In the Silverlight version of MEF one of the most powerful catalogs is the Deployment catalog. The Deployment catalog enables you to do some really cool stuff because you can download parts of the application when you need them.

I am using the Deployment Catalog on one of my projects and today I hit an issue that made me bang my head for over 30 minutes! The error was clear but it was a mystery why it was happening… 

The Error

I could see the error I was getting inside the event arguments of the DownloadCompleted event (e.Error) of the Deployment catalog. It was saying I had an import that could not be resolved since I had more then 1 export matching that requested import >> “More than one export was found that matches the constraint ”

The Import I had looked like this

[Import(AllowRecomposition=true)]
public ILogService Logger { get; set; }

But I had a single export like this

[Export(typeof(ILogService))]
public class Loger : ILogService

The Logger class was not in the assembly that I was trying to download it was in an assembly called CommonServices. I had a reference to the CommonServices assembly.

The main application that was using the Deployment Catalog to download the other assembly also had a reference to the CommonServices. Besides that it was also creating an Assembly Catalog for the CommonServices and put it in the aggregate Assembly that had the Deployment Catalog. I was doing this since the Main application was also using the ILogService as an import.

Why the Error?

After reading this post I immediately knew why the error was happening and how to solve it. Deployment Catalog will load all assemblies inside the XAP file thus all the assemblies that it references (The referenced assembly will be in the XAP file if you set Copy Local=true and by default VS does that for you). So in my case the Deployment Catalog was creating an Assembly Catalog for the CommonServices but I had already created that in my main application since I was importing ILogService in my main application.

The Solution

image The solution is easy set Copy Local to false for the referenced assemblies you do not want DeploymentCatalog to load at runtime. Your imports inside the assembly will still be staisfied since the Deployment Catalog is in the same Aggregate Catalog where you loaded the assembly as an AssemblyCatalog.

Hope this may help anyone having the same issue.

Enjoy your daily MEFing :)

6 thoughts on “MEF DeploymentCatalog and Reference assemblies

  1. Yup, I ran into this issue and it took me some time to realize what should have been evident to me. Great post, hopefully it saves someone else some headache.

  2. Pingback: More than one export was found that matches the constraint « Necessity is the mother of invention

Leave a Reply

